St George’s C of E Infant and Preschool

Inspire, Believe, Achieve-Let your light shine.


Parents Guide to the National Curriculum

Key Stage 1 (Year 1 and Year 2) follow the National Curriculum
Subjects taught in Key Stage 1:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Computing 
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art and Design
  • Design and Technology
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Personal Social Health Education
  • Religious Education (following the Bucks Agreed Syllabus)

Early Years follow the Foundation Stage Curriculum.

The prime areas of learning are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas of learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive arts and design


Characteristics of effective learning:

  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically