St George’s C of E Infant and Preschool

Inspire, Believe, Achieve-Let your light shine.

Year 2

In Year 2 your child will follow the National Curriculum, which will provide a framework to ensure the development of your child as he or she moves through year 2. The basic requirements under the National Curriculum are four core subjects:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Information Communication Technology (ICT)

There are six foundation subjects:

  • Art and Design
  • History
  • Geography
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Design and Technology

In addition to the subjects specified in the National Curriculum, the school curriculum also addresses other subjects such as Religious Education, Personal, Social Health and Citizenship Education, Equal Opportunities and Multi-cultural education.

The curriculum is taught through exciting topics and themes.


End of year Assessments for Year 2

At the end of Year 2, we report the children's academic performance for the end of key stage one in:

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Grammar, punctuation and spelling


These are often referred to as Year 2 SATs (standard attainment tests).  We do this by combining teacher assessments with the SATs test results.


The testing process is in May.  Due to the age of the children, this testing process is carried out very sensitively.  In fact children often do not realise they are actually completing their SATs test.  End of key stage results are shared with parents in their child's annual school report in July.



For further information regarding key stage one SATs, please see the link below: