St George’s C of E Infant and Preschool

Inspire, Believe, Achieve-Let your light shine.

Year 1

As children move from Early Years to Year 1 they will follow the National Curriculum, which will provide a framework to ensure their development as they move through Key Stage 1 (Year 1 and Year 2).

The basic requirements under the National Curriculum include four core subjects:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Information Communication Technology (ICT)

There are six foundation subjects:

  • Art and Design
  • History
  • Geography
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Design Technology

In addition to the subjects specified in the National Curriculum, the school curriculum also contains Religious Education and Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship Education.

The approach in which the curriculum as a whole is delivered will reflect the needs of each individual child.

We plan work to relate to a topic or theme. We also have regular themed weeks/days.